Home » Care » Dynamic Dementia

Dynamic Dementia

Here’s my attempt at the poem, be kind please. It’s the first poem I’ve written for maybe 8 years?

You thought you could destroy my life
You thought you could take my nan
You thought you could make troubles rife
You only brought us closer

You thought you could make her forget
You thought you could tear us apart
You thought you could cause us upset
You only brought us closer

You thought you could make her unkind
You thought you could change her nature
You thought you could make her confined
You only brought us closer

I never thought I could do it
I never thought I could care
I never thought I could bear it
You only brought us closer

I give my nan a life more free
I give my nan my every thought
I give my nan her dignity
You only brought us closer

I don’t see it as my duty
I do not think she’s a burden
She has filled my life with beauty
You only brought us closer

Being with nan is a delight
My devotion for her is stronger
I would dote on her day and night
You only brought us closer

So thank-you dementia for changing my life
But only for the better
Every day is truly diverse
You only brought us closer

Leave a Reply

