Home » Dementia » Poems and Songs » Inside My Head

Inside My Head

Being myself is making me sad
I want to be somebody else
Being myself makes me feel mad
I’m scared for my mental health

Sometimes I rant and sometimes I rave
Sometimes exceedingly happy
I wish that my mind would behave
And I could stop being unhappy

The tiniest things make me feel cross
Like I could just shout, kick and punch
I want to tell my brain I’m the boss
Instead of just feeling the crunch

When I feel down and gloomy and blue
It’s like nothing will get better
It takes all I have to make me pull through
I also a natural fretter

When I get happy it goes to extremes
My energy just won’t stop
I come up with plans and hopes and dreams
Not worrying about the drop

Now and again I just feel numb
I can’t cry, laugh or scream
I’m worried about what will become
If people start to see

Being myself is making me sad
I want to be somebody else
Being myself makes me feel mad
I’m scared for my mental health

4 thoughts on “Inside My Head

  1. Kirsty my dictionary tells me “better” means .. More excellent than others…superior..improved or fully recovered in health…in a more excellent manner or to a greater degree…well in my book in my head you are far superior than me as I know I couldn’t do what you do daily…I pray your own health is sound and as for mental health…we need not go there.. And I am sure many of us who follow your tweets blogs or fbook posts would say you ARE more excellant xxx just enjoy whatever time out you get to be yourself xxx

    • Thankyou love, after my mini meltdown I booked some time with mum to take over helping nan while I have come down to Kent for a week 🙂
      Only been gone two days and I’m ready to get back lol xxx

Leave a Reply

