Home » Care » Monopoly

Monopoly

Yesterday nan and I felt extremely bored, what with waiting for Christmas to arrive and a storm brewing. So I thought we could play a board game. It makes a change from cards (which I am extremely fed up of losing). But I was unsure how nan would cope, there’s a lot of stages to board games and a lot to remember.

But you know what? There was no need to worry, or any reason to have delayed so long. Nan coped brilliantly. She said she’s never played Monopoly before, I am unsure if that was true but she picked it up quick enough. Buying as many properties as she could hold. Then ending up in jail many times which she found hilarious.

Of course remembering what was going on and what she should do next was a small issue but a little nudge and she’d swing back. There was no problem with attention. We played for 4 hours, and I honestly think I got bored before she did.

Nan really loved counting the money. Especially when she had a lot of it. And she did such a brilliant job of giving me the exact amount that I barely bothered checking. The only thing that stumped her was when she had too much money, for example if she only had two 100M’s and I needed 120M. The idea of change was something she couldn’t consider, but that was the only time I really had to “take over” for her.

So please remember, don’t hold someone back because you think they can’t do it. Let them prove you wrong. Think nan with Monopoly, and Finding Nemo with the swimming.

And of course to all of you, have a very Merry Christmas. From both me and nan. I hope you take time out and can get in at least 5 minutes relaxation.

Many festive kisses and hugs xxx

2 thoughts on “Monopoly

  1. You are very wise regarding your “don’t hold someone back” comment. Too often caregivers step in where they’re not needed. For example, completing someone’s sentence because it’s taking them so long to place their thoughts into cohesive statements. When I witness that type of thing happening I tell the caregiver that taking over in that manner prematurely takes away the loved one’s ability to still carry on a conversation. After awhile, the loved one stops trying because he/she knows the caregiver will speak for him/her.

    It’s okay to let the loved one stumble over trying to cut their meat or use their eating utensils. But if the caregiver decides right away that the person needs to be hand fed, yet another ability has been taken away from the loved one prematurely. I understand that a great amount of patience is required in the caregiving task, having been the caregiver for my father and a part-time caregiver for my sister-in-law, but being patient is a wonderful gift that we give our loved ones.

    Bless you for what you do – you are doing a fantastic job. Merry Christmas.

    • Thankyou 🙂 I have found myself stepping in more and more. And completely berate myself for it. There is no need, I’m just taking away things nan is perfectly capable of!
      Merry Christmas xx

Leave a Reply

