Home » Uncategorized » Home is Where The Heart Is

Home is Where The Heart Is

Firstly, Honey, I’m home.

Secondly, thankyou to all of you for bearing with me during my hiatus. The messages and emails I have received have made me feel rather loved!

So yes, I’m back. It has been a while, a good few weeks, possibly months since my last proper post. I know I scheduled some to go out, but they weren’t even finished. So what have I been up to? What has nan been up to? Really we both needed some time away from each other, and away from thinking about the dementia 24/7. Nan has been going out with mum, and getting to know her new carers (of course there have been more than a few issues, which I am sure there will be a more in depth post about at some point). But she seems much more willing to be helped now. A good thing and a bad thing, as I feel it means she may be giving up her responsibilities.

I have been working, more than that, enjoying working. And I am once again a completely different person, the last two years I’ve been through so many changes I barely recognise myself! I have been experiencing being young again, living an almost care free life, I have still been covering the necessary “duties” and spending time with nan. But as always the freedom went to my head and I think I went a bit overboard, I’ve been feeling guilty that nan has not had my full attention, so I am trying to now limit my time out of the house. It sounds horrible, but once I’m out I feel like I don’t want to go back in. And then when I am in I feel guilty for enjoying my time out. Such a muddle going on in my head, but thankfully I’ve made some supportive friends, who understand my need to abandon them at random times to check on nan.

So here’s to the BIG THING. Our exciting news. It just goes to show you never know who is reading what you put online. Our blog is being read by people at Alzheimers Society, who want to do an interview for their magazine. Needless to say nan and I are both thrilled, and would like to say right now, thankyou to all who have contributed to this possibility. It blows our mind that so many people are interested in what we have to say, and that people come back for more.

I love you all very very much, please get in contact and let me know what you’ve been up to while I’ve been away. See you all very soon for the next post 🙂

2 thoughts on “Home is Where The Heart Is

Leave a Reply

